Windows 10 Tutorial: Automatically Delete Browsing History In Edge

Like most modern web browser, Microsoft Edge comes with a private mode, called InPrivate, that opens up the app in incognito mode. A separate, private window that does not save certain elements.

Elements like visited pages, cookies, searches and temporary files.

However, not many people use these private modes, and much rather prefer clearing their browsing history and data after close the application. Luckily, Microsoft has built in a setting to enable this automatic disposal in the Edge web browser.

You can set it up so that the browser automatically deletes your browsing history after you close it.

To do so, open Edge.

Now, click on the three dots available on the top-right of the browser, and click on the Settings link.

Scroll down to where it says Clear browsing data in the sub-heading, and then click the Choose what to clear button that is located directly beneath it.

You will see six boxes here, three of which are turned on by default. Directly beneath these boxes is a toggle switch for Always clear this when I close the browser. Simply slide it to on to activate the setting, and select more options from the top if you want to.

Now anytime you close Edge, the browser will automatically delete your browsing history.

And you can reopen the app fresh.

Leave a Comment